A Hunger for God

Many people believe many different things about the Bible. Some people claim that the Bible is about an angry God who hates people who don’t do what He says, therefore He destroys them. Other people will say that they respect the bible and honor it, yet they never read it. It is unfortunate that people who claim to be Christians do not read their bible as much as they need to. Please do not take this blog to be a blog about bashing people who do not read their Bibles enough. Let me continue.. I will say that we are not loving Jesus enough. I have conversations with my brothers in Christ and every time I press on how they are doing in their relationship with the Lord, I sense tension in all of them as they respond. I am with them. I feel convicted. I do not love the Lord the way that I need to. Again, this blog is not about how we need to read our bibles two hours a day in order to be saved, but it is about desiring to know God more. “Men shall not live on bread alone but the very word of God.” The Holy Spirit nudged me about that today. Of course I have read that hundreds of times, but the Holy Spirit was leading me to ask myself “Am I more hungry for God than I am for chicken tenders and fries?” It is a ridiculous question. But I get really hungry around 2pm when I have not had lunch. But why do I not get a real hunger in my soul that makes me feel a need for God whenever I have not opened up his word and it is 2pm? I am convinced that our generation is constantly entertained and occupied with technology that it has led us to become hard hearted and extremely lacking when it comes to our spiritual depth. No, technology is not the devil.. God created it and it can be used for His Glory, but so often we are people using God’s stuff for our own Glory. We use technology to be entertained, bring attention to ourselves, and to consume our spare time. We are so easily satisfied spending so much of our time stalking other people on the internet. I’m not going to tell everyone that they should shut their computers down and begin beating them with baseball bats while chanting “you’re the Devil”, but I will encourage you to check your heart and ask yourself if you have been distracted by entertainment and the internet to the point where it has negatively affected your relationship with Jesus. For many of us, it has been so long since we have felt the Father’s heart. Those moments are sweeter than any thing that anyone could ever experience in this world. God has not run from us because we are so locked in on our materialistic possessions, but we have run from Him. In entertaining ourselves constantly and barely ever thinking of His word, we have placed our hands on our ears and let our selfishness dominate us. The good news is that this does not have to continue.

follow my advice and save yourself,
for you have placed yourself at your friend’s mercy.
Now swallow your pride;
go and beg to have your name erased.
Don’t put it off; do it now!
Don’t rest until you do.
Save yourself like a gazelle escaping from a hunter,
like a bird fleeing from a net.

Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones.
Learn from their ways and become wise!
Though they have no prince
or governor or ruler to make them work,
they labor hard all summer,
gathering food for the winter.
But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep?
When will you wake up?
10 A little extra sleep, a little more slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
11 then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit;
scarcity will attack you like an armed robber. Proverbs 6:3-11

The scriptures are full of messages that encourage us to invest. The main theme of the Bible is that God sent Jesus to save everyone who would believe in Him and the scriptures clearly teach us to invest in Eternity. I do not want to take the scripture above out of context, but what I’m looking to say with that verse is that action from us must be taken. We have to realize the spiritual condition that we are in and do something about it. Christ already went to the cross for us, it is okay for us to walk in spiritually wounded and feeling unworthy. If we develop a love for Christ and His word, then we will not need to be so strict about the things we do and don’t do, because all we will want to do is love Him and please Him.
“It is okay to not be okay as long as you don’t stay there.”
Matt Chandler-
I hope to start blogging more often.
This entry was posted in Christian Living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

